amodelwhosread

*BLOG TOUR* Wicked Saints by Emily A. Duncan

Advertisements

Hello and welcome to your next stop of the Wicked Saints Blog Tour!

I’m sure everyone has been hearing about the vast amounts of blood, dark magic, and straight up creep factor this novel has, and you’re only going to find more of that here. This book was *soaked* in blood. Dripping in it. Dancing around in a pool of it whilst singing ancient curses and revealing in the horror of all those present.

And goddamn, I loved it.

I’m giving this book a solid 4.5/5 stars, good for fans of Six of Crows, Echo North, and Angelfall. Please beware there is a LOT of blood, torture scenes, and body horror.

One of my favourite things was how Duncan distorted a ‘traditional’ fantasy novel into having strange new attributes that made it incredibly intriguing and unique to read. I am a major sucker for Russian and Baltic folklore, and Duncan executed a perfect mashup of an inspired-by-Russian world and a twisted faerie tale nightmare. With large similarities to Leigh Bardugo’s Grishaverse (one of my favourites), Duncan took those elements and made them worse in the best way possible. This twisted, romantic, sympathetic villain of the Black Vulture is so well written I don’t know if I can swoon over him morally. The main character of Nadya was smart and resourceful, and even though she was scared she made sure to know what she was scared of. Serefin’s POV took me by surprise and honestly, I wasn’t mad about it. Having an alcoholic teenage prince was new, to say the least, and his family drama with magic was compelling. Without spoiling too much, this was the best magic-family-secret type book I’ve ever read (which is saying A LOT).

This book starts off with a bang and the downfall of these characters’ intwined lives made me so happy to see their suffering. Harsh words, but nonetheless true. Please don’t think poorly of me and my decisions. You’re the one looking for a review, after all.

Thank you so much to Raincoast for having me on the blog tour! Wicked Saints drops April 2nd, 2019!

Advertisements

Advertisements